5 Questions With…Joe Silko

Joe Silko added his name to the mix in this exciting basketball offseason as a walk-on and added another reason to show up to basketball games starting 39 days from now. Silko was a four-year varsity starter at South Fayette HS  and helped lead South Fayette to section championships in 2008 and 2009…Hit seven 3-pointers and scored 28 points to lead the Lions to a 75-58 Class AA Section 3 win

The 22000+ had a chance to sit down with Joe and see what he was all about in another edition of “5 Questions With”:

What made you decide to walk on?I have played basketball my entire life and it is a big part of who I am. I have also been a Penn State guy from the start. My dad went here and my sister just graduated from Penn State last year. So I figured when I decided to go here that I would give basketball a shot. I’m very grateful to have been given the opportunity to walk-on to the basketball team and I will be sure to take advantage of everything I am given.

What do you think you have to offer to the team?I’m not the best athlete. I’m not the fastest guy I know. I don’t jump exceptionally well. I can’t score at will. But what I can do is go into practice and play as hard as I can. I can push the other guys on the team and do whatever I can in practice. Whether it be motivating someone to practice just a little harder or helping out on the scout team, I can guarantee that I will give it my all.

How is it going meeting all your new teammates?I have really enjoyed getting to know all the guys on the team. I was really nervous my first couple of days around the guys but as time went on I really started to feel comfortable around everyone. These are all really good guys and I look forward to spending more time with them.

What are you most looking forward to when it comes to playing basketball here? I am most looking forward to being a part of a team that is ready to big things. There is a lot of talent and a lot of heart on this team and I am so excited to be a part of something special.

Who do you try and play like?I don’t know that I try and model my game after any one player. I just like to go out there and make sure I leave my heart on the court.

~ by blj1887 on October 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
