4th and 10

While watching the OSU-USC game tonight I looked at my one roommate and said “I hate it when teams go for it on 4th and 10 and end up throwing it 45 yards down the field. All you need is a normal higher percentage pass and you’re fine.” Now I dont want to say that I have any idea what it is like to be out on the field with the world watching and the game in your hands; but more than once in my football watching days have I seen this happen. Tonight was another example of this; facing a 4th and 10 Pryor gunned the ball down the field into double coverage about 25 yards away. It reminded me of the play that ended the game against OSU last year. Facing a 2nd and 10 not a 4th and 10 with 31 seconds left Pryor threw the ball 40 yards into triple coverage and it was picked off.

This may seem like one of my many Pryor based posts but it isn’t. The fact of the matter is that time and time again I see quarterbacks use 4th down as an excuse to combined their passion of Punt Pass and Kick with their need to make like Doug Flutie. It’s getting old, and the fact of the matter is that it isn’t good quarterbacking. Throw the ball out of bounds, stop the clock, and live to fight another down. Maybe it isn’t that easy when you’re out there playing, but I hope that playing smart becomes more of a common place for quarterbacks in college.

That it, I’m off the soapbox for now…stay classy Penn State.

oh and this is how you deal with a 4th down..

~ by blj1887 on September 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
